What I read, aka, what keeps me from writing

I thought I’d go away from the how-to for a little bit here, and let you, lovely reader, know what keeps me occupied when I’m having problems writing, or when I just need some downtime from writing.

First off, the books I read are not necessarily in the genre I write.  Lately, none of the books I read have been in the genre I write, mostly because I don’t particularly like reading what other people might be writing, say, about vampires or ghosts.

I read z-poc (zombie apocalypse) novels by indie (independent-Kindle/Createspace) authors.  I got into reading z-poc when I had to wait for my favorite authors to produce more books.  It’s been almost a year since I started reading the apocalyptic books, and I’ve found enormously talented authors, and more than a few favorites.  Most of the z-poc books I’ve read are series books, and actually are worth the wait for the next novel.  The authors I’ve read are:

Mark Tufo (Zombie Fallout 1-7)–Can’t wait for ZF8. Check out his other books, such as the Indian Hill series (3 books so far-can’t wait for IH4), The Spirit Clearing (standalone), and Lycan Fallout series (1 book so far-impatient for LF2)

Bryan James (LZR-1143 1-3, so far)–Waiting impatiently for the release of Book 4

Shawn Chesser (Surviving The Zombie Apocalypse Series 1-5) Awaiting Book 6–Christmas time 2013

Christian Fletcher (Left series, 1-4) Finished book 4 just days ago and already impatient for book 5

DJ Molles (The Remaining series 1-4) slightly patiently waiting for book 5, which will be published through a traditional publisher, good on Mr. Molles

James Cook (Surviving the Dead Series 1-3)

Mikhail Lerma (Z-plan series 1) Not at all patient about waiting for Book 2

J.W.Vohs (Zombie Crusade series 1-3) waiting for book 4

Phillip Tomasso (Vaccination book 1) waiting for the next book, not patiently

RJ Kennett (COR (Central Outbreak Response) book 1) can’t wait for more from the series

S. Johnathan Davis (900 Miles-not sure if this is a series or not)

J. Rudolph (Reanimates trilogy, 1-2) Impatiently awaiting book 3

There are others, but some I’d rather not mention. Some are good, but not as great as I’d imagined, and some I will not be mentioning at all due to the disappointing nature of the stories, including apparently unedited work.

On the next installment of What I Read…it will be of the more alternate side…

Leave a Reply

