The music of my ears…aka what I listen to when I write

Almost all of the authors I read have put out playlists for their novels. I’m a little late in getting something like that compiled, so I’ll just list the various music that I enjoy listening to while I write. From this point on, I’ll attempt to keep a playlist, but I have to say, I write to music that inspires me to continue forward, and sometimes it just happens to be the same song over and over again. Yes, I know, not a lot of people can listen to the same song over and over again, but it really just becomes background to me, and then I’m not focused on the words, so much as the instrumentals accompanying the vocals.

Here are some of the songs that I listened to while writing my first series: (Aug 2006-Jan 2012)

Hinder: Get Stoned, Bliss (I don’t want to know), Loaded and Alone, Far From Home

Nickelback: I’d Come For You, Just To Get High

Rev Theory: Ten Years, Far From Over

Muse (Live): Knights of Cydonia, Hysteria, Maps of the Problematique

Savage Garden: To The Moon and Back, Truly Madly Deeply, Tears of Pearls, Carry On Dancing, Violet, Break Me Shake Me

System of a Down: Albums Mesmerize and Hypnotize

Wham!: Careless Whisper, Everything She Wants, Freedom

Kanye West: Album 808s & Heartbreak

Carl Orff: Carmina Burana-O Furtuna

Black Eyed Peas: Let’s Get Retard

3 Doors Down: Album 3 Doors Down

A Perfect Circle: Passive

Ace of Base: Album The Sign

Alannah Myles: Black Velvet

Eurythmics: Sweet Dreams, Here Comes The Rain Again

!Hero_The Rock Opera: A Few Good Men, Lose My life With You, Secrets of the Heart

DJ Ferret’s Underground Club Mix 2: Sophia, The Crüxshadows; Endless Reverie, Azam Ali; Day of the Dead, Voltaire

Dan Folgelberg: The First Christmas Morning

Flyleaf: All Around Me

Marilyn Manson: albums Lest We Forget, Mechanical Animals, Smells Like Children

Cyndi Lauper: album At Last

**This is not the complete list, of course, but it is a good portion of what I listened to for almost seven years of writing on one series**

The next installment will be a listing of what I have listened to, so far, for series number 2.  Hope you enjoy some of these song, whether new or familiar.

Leave a Reply

